15
Aug
13

back to school

Most major universities and public schools came back into session for Fall term this week. At the BUAP Escuela de Medicina,  students are back from vacation and the halls buzz with anticipation as they arrange schedules and meet new professors for their classes in endocrinology, psychiatry, public health, nursing, and other specialties. Unlike in the U.S., medical school students here have a standard uniform: white pants, white shoes, and long lab coat-like white jackets. Embroidered patches on coat sleeves indicate the student’s speciality or course of training. Students at the BUAP Medical School come from surrounding Puebla communities, but also from states near and far: Veracruz, Estado de México, Morelos, among others. Their excitement is somewhat infectious, and though I would like more time here to work on my research and writing projects, it’s time to head back to Eugene for our return to Fall quarter classes. This is our MHIRT trainees’ last week and my last week in Puebla.

2 Responses to “back to school”


  1. August 19, 2013 at 8:31 am

    Hello! You may or not remember me from all the ANSC global public health classes you taught at UCSD in 2011-2012. I took all three of your classes and talked to you in depth about grad school and the MMFRP program. 😀 I just wanted to thank you for continuing to post about your research and experiences! It’s great “following” your journeys and insights. Your post about the asylums was particularly intriguing. Thanks and hope all is well! I’d love to keep in touch.
    Risa F.

    p.s. I’ll be working this year with Dr. Csordas on developing the Global Health Minor. It’s an exciting challenge – I’m looking forward to watching it grow.

  2. May 29, 2014 at 7:02 am

    Hello there I am so delighted I foun your blog page, I really fojnd you by error, while I waas researching on Yahoo for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like too say many thanks for a remarkable post and a all rkund njoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, sso when I
    have time I wil be back to read a lot more, Please doo keep up the superb
    work.


Leave a Reply

